Executive Committee

Executive Committee responsibilities

To achieve its outcomes, the initiative requires a small but well represented executive body, able to take responsibility of overseeing the implementation of associated projects and interventions. Activities designated as part of the executive function of the initiative, but which are to be considered distinct from the execution of project deliverables associated with the strategic focus areas, are:


Executive committee meetings

Executive committee meeting facilitation and stakeholder engagement meetings



Preparation of the NPC annual report and any project/stakeholder specific reporting


Activity support

Activity support incorporates the preparation of project concept documents, tender packs and high level monitoring and evaluation of interventions

Executive Committee structure

The structure of the Executive Committee reflects a partnership between government, industry and labour. It consists of:


  • Four supplier representatives (one from the Eastern Cape, Gauteng, KwaZulu- Natal and Western Cape regions)
  • One representative from the National Association of Automotive Component and Allied Manufacturers (NAACAM)
  • Two representatives from the National Association of Automobile Manufacturers of South Africa (NAAMSA)
  • Two representatives from the Department of Trade and Industry (dti)
  • Two representatives from the National Union of Metalworkers South Africa (NUMSA).


The executive committee is accountable for strategic planning and direction, as well as effective oversight of identified projects, plans and policies.

Executive Committee mandate

Competitiveness strategy

Formulate a national competitiveness improvement strategy

Regional industry support

Monitor and coordinate support to regional industries


Fund localisation research projects

Initiate, support and fund localisation research projects


Engage with local/provincial authorities

Engage with local/provincial authorities on the development of local automotive sectors and clusters

Executive Committee

Alex Holmes (Chair)


NAACAM KZN Supplier Representative

Andrew Velleman

Toyota Tsusho

Supplier Capability Sub-Committee Chair

Arthur Mtombeni

Plastic Omnium

Localisation Sub-Committee Chair

Andy Dealtry


NAACAM EC Supplier Representative

Matome Kgowedi

Government Representative

Mpho Mafole

Government Representative

Renai Moothilal


NAACAM Executive Director

Andrea Moz

Auto Industrial

NAACAM GP supplier representative

Sharon Modiba



John Oliver

OEM Representative

(Toyota South Africa Motors)

Douglas Comrie

Chief Facilitator

(B&M Analysts)

John White


(B&M Analysts)